Steroids Online News
Sep 15
  • 2008-mr-olympia-katalin-322
  • dexter-jackson-arms-10
  • Melvin Anthony, Dennis Wolf, David Henry at the 2007 Mr. Olympia Prejudging
  • 2008-arnold-classic-310
  • 2001-night-of-champions-106
Muscletime Report: 2009 Mr. Olympia PDF Print E-mail
Written by Muscletime   
Monday, 28 September 2009 00:00
Pin It

The 2009 Mr. Olympia was billed as the greatest Olympia contest in history. Bodybuilding fans and contest promoters alike were excited at the prospect of the two most recent Mr. Olympia champions and the last three Arnold Classic champions facing off in Las Vegas!

Phil Heath and Kai Greene were the favorites to dethrone the reigning Mr. Olympia, Dexter Jackson. Victor Martinez and Dennis Wolf were also thought to be potential contenders for the Sandow.

Former two-time Mr. Olympia Jay Cutler was often mentioned but only out of respect for what the many accomplishments he had accomplished over the years as a top professional bodybuilder. Only die-hard Cutler fans gave him a serious chance of recapturing the crown after having lost the title to a competitor. That had never happened before.

And Branch Warren? Well, perhaps he would place in the top ten.

But how did the story actually turn out?

Muscletime Predictions for the 2009 Mr. Olympia PDF Print E-mail
Written by Muscletime   
Sunday, 02 August 2009 00:00
Pin It

Dexter Jackson and Phil Heath at 2008 Mr. Olympia Prejudging The 2009 Mr. Olympia promises to be the most exciting Olympia since the 1998 Mr. Olympia. At least five competitors have a legitimate shot at winning this year!

Once upon a time in the history of the Mr. Olympia, the winner of the world’s most prestigious bodybuilding contest was quite predictable year after year. For over two decades beginning with Lee Haney’s triumph in New York City, the contest held little real suspense. A grand total of three men represented the winners of the contest for 22 years. Lee Haney racked up eight victories before his retirement; he was succeeded by Dorian Yates who won six times before retiring. Then, Ronnie Coleman introduced a spark of excitement with his 1998 victory which quickly fizzled with eight impressive, but uninspiring, consecutive titles.

Jay Cutler made the contest interesting again in 2006 when he denied Ronnie Coleman a record 9 victories; many expected Coleman would be awarded a ninth Sandow as a storybook ending to his career.

Cutler defended the 2007 title but not without considerable controversy. Many experts felt that Victor Martinez or Dennis Wolf should have won.

In 2008, Dexter Jackson won the Olympia after playing second fiddle for so many years. He clearly outdueled Cutler for the Sandow; however his victory was not without dispute. Phil Heath was indentified by many as the uncrowned Mr. Olympia

The Mr. Olympia contest, which was once characterized by the predictability of the winner, is anything but predictable in 2009. We see five men as legitimate contenders this year. Phil Heath. Kai Greene. Dexter Jackson. Dennis Wolf. Victor Martinez.

Anyone in the top 5 can easily win. This promises to be the best show in a long time.

  • «
  •  Start 
  •  Prev 
  •  1 
  •  2 
  •  3 
  •  4 
  •  5 
  •  6 
  •  7 
  •  8 
  •  9 
  •  10 
  •  Next 
  •  End 
  • »

Page 1 of 30