Steroids Online News
Oct 14

Muscletime Report: 2009 Mr. Olympia PDF Print E-mail
Written by Muscletime   
Monday, 28 September 2009 00:00
Pin It

The 2009 Mr. Olympia was billed as the greatest Olympia contest in history. Bodybuilding fans and contest promoters alike were excited at the prospect of the two most recent Mr. Olympia champions and the last three Arnold Classic champions facing off in Las Vegas!

Phil Heath and Kai Greene were the favorites to dethrone the reigning Mr. Olympia, Dexter Jackson. Victor Martinez and Dennis Wolf were also thought to be potential contenders for the Sandow.

Former two-time Mr. Olympia Jay Cutler was often mentioned but only out of respect for what the many accomplishments he had accomplished over the years as a top professional bodybuilder. Only die-hard Cutler fans gave him a serious chance of recapturing the crown after having lost the title to a competitor. That had never happened before.

And Branch Warren? Well, perhaps he would place in the top ten.

But how did the story actually turn out?

Muscletime Predictions for the 2009 Mr. Olympia PDF Print E-mail
Written by Muscletime   
Sunday, 02 August 2009 00:00
Pin It

Dexter Jackson and Phil Heath at 2008 Mr. Olympia Prejudging The 2009 Mr. Olympia promises to be the most exciting Olympia since the 1998 Mr. Olympia. At least five competitors have a legitimate shot at winning this year!

Once upon a time in the history of the Mr. Olympia, the winner of the world’s most prestigious bodybuilding contest was quite predictable year after year. For over two decades beginning with Lee Haney’s triumph in New York City, the contest held little real suspense. A grand total of three men represented the winners of the contest for 22 years. Lee Haney racked up eight victories before his retirement; he was succeeded by Dorian Yates who won six times before retiring. Then, Ronnie Coleman introduced a spark of excitement with his 1998 victory which quickly fizzled with eight impressive, but uninspiring, consecutive titles.

Jay Cutler made the contest interesting again in 2006 when he denied Ronnie Coleman a record 9 victories; many expected Coleman would be awarded a ninth Sandow as a storybook ending to his career.

Cutler defended the 2007 title but not without considerable controversy. Many experts felt that Victor Martinez or Dennis Wolf should have won.

In 2008, Dexter Jackson won the Olympia after playing second fiddle for so many years. He clearly outdueled Cutler for the Sandow; however his victory was not without dispute. Phil Heath was indentified by many as the uncrowned Mr. Olympia

The Mr. Olympia contest, which was once characterized by the predictability of the winner, is anything but predictable in 2009. We see five men as legitimate contenders this year. Phil Heath. Kai Greene. Dexter Jackson. Dennis Wolf. Victor Martinez.

Anyone in the top 5 can easily win. This promises to be the best show in a long time.

Bodybuilding Tribute to Michael Jackson: Kai Greene Posing to "Dirty Diana" PDF Print E-mail
Written by Muscletime   
Friday, 26 June 2009 00:00
Pin It

Kai Greene Posing to

IFBB pro bodybuilder Kai Greene gives an electrifying performance to Michael Jackson's "Dirty Diana" at the 2007 Keystone Classic bodybuilding contest in Pennsylvania. Many bodybuilders have posed to the music of Michael Jackson over the years but Kai Greene's Michael Jackson inspired posing routine is the all-time best in bodybuilding history! RIP Michael Jackson, June 25, 2009.

Muscletime Predictions for the 2009 Arnold Classic PDF Print E-mail
Written by Muscletime   
Wednesday, 18 February 2009 22:37
Pin It

Kai GreeneThe 2009 Arnold Schwarzenegger Classic marks the return of IFBB pro bodybuilder Victor Martinez to the competitive bodybuilding stage. Victor Martinez, the uncrowned Mr. Olympia from 2007, was expected to reign victorious over top challengers last year in Columbus. The 2008 Arnold Classic was intended to be a small step in his victory march in quest for the Sandow at the 2008 Mr. Olympia contest. Instead, Victor Martinez was sidelined as a result of a torn patellar tendon in the weeks prior to the contest. Victor was forced to withdraw from both the 2008 Arnold Classic and the 2008 Mr. Olympia. He watched Dexter Jackson capture an impressive victory over Phil Heath and Kai Greene at the 2008 Arnold. Dexter Jackson, the new Arnold Classic champion, then went on to win the Mr. Olympia title dethroning Jay Cutler in the process.

Dexter Jackson and Phil Heath, the 2008 Arnold Classic champion and runner-up, have chosen to skip this year's Arnold to focus on the Mr. Olympia. But Victor Martinez' anticipated comeback celebration will be challenged by several top pro bodybuilders including Kai Greene, Toney Freeman, Gustavo Badell, and Branch Warren. The quality of competition at the 2009 Arnold Classic should not disappoint. Most of the top pros did not compete in the Iron Man Pro in Los Angeles, the first contest on the 2009 IFBB schedule. So, this year's Arnold Classic will be a highly anticipated showcase of the progress made by many of the best physiques in competitive bodybuilding during an extended off-season.

2009 Iron Man Pro Contest Results PDF Print E-mail
Written by Muscletime   
Saturday, 24 January 2009 16:31
Pin It

2009-ironman-pro-katie-kurko161The 2009 Iron Man Pro celebrates its 20th anniversary as the longest-running and most popular professional bodybuilding contest in Southern California. The contest is being held in the month of January for the first time in its history. The January show date may accommodate the schedule of exhibitors at the FitExpo which is held in conjunction with the pro contest, but many top competitors found it difficult to include the SoCal contest as their usual pre-Arnold warm-up; it precedes the Arnold Classic by six weeks. The reigning Iron Man Pro champion Phil Heath decided to skip the Iron Man and focus his preparations on the 2009 Mr. Olympia. Runner-up Gustavo Badell and Toney Freeman skipped the Iron Man and saved themselves for the Arnold Classic.

The 2009 Iron Man Pro also suffered from subpar conditioning from the top athletes. The clear and noteworthy exceptions in the conditioning department were Silvio Samuel and Mohammed Bannout. The conditioning of Silvio Samuel is never a surprise; he is always in exceptional shape. The appearance of Mohammed Bannout was probably the biggest surprise of the show. Bannout's ridiculously shredded and striated muscle served as an in-your-face pointer for his fellow competitors. The 1983 Mr. Olympia Samir Bannout helped cousin Mohammed prepare for his first professional bodybuilding contest.

The top five automatically qualify for the 2009 Mr. Olympia.

Contest Results for the 2009 Iron Man Pro

  • «
  •  Start 
  •  Prev 
  •  1 
  •  2 
  •  3 
  •  4 
  •  5 
  •  6 
  •  7 
  •  8 
  •  9 
  •  10 
  •  Next 
  •  End 
  • »

Page 1 of 12